Pupukea Road

ALMOST took out the nebulizer (but didn’t!)

Leave a comment

I saw it all over the news, I even saw it on my Instagram – the VOG (volcanic smog) was going to be bad this weekend.  Sebbie has really been exempt from any breathing issues  since we started using essential oils,  so I forgot to even check on her. But out of nowhere she suddenly started wheezing and her cough progressed so quickly (like, within 5 minutes) that I was ready to rummage around for some steroid filled vials.

But first, I:

  • I diffused the respitory blend and frankincense and laid her next to it.
  • I put more respitory blend on her feet and covered them with socks.
  • I used a roller bottle and put lemon/lavender/peppermint down her spine and cypress and frankincense on her chest.
  • I repeated the above every 5 minutes. 

After the 3rd time, I told her we would only give the oils 5 more minutes to kick in or she would need to use her old meds. (She was miserable, but was ready to cry when I told her I was going to take out the nebulizer – she hates it.)
And of course, the oils helped tremendously. She is currently sleeping soundly, no coughing or wheezing. My room smells like a candy cane, but it’s okay.


Next time instead of panicking, I will try making  homemade cough syrup:

  • 1 tsp honey
  • 1 drop lemon
  • 1 drop peppermint
  • 1 drop frankincense
  • 1 drop wild orange

Really, I’m posting this so I don’t forget. (When your child is suffering, its hard to calmly browse Google for the best remedy.

Author: jenwilliamshi

Just in case you're wondering, this is what I'm doing on my year off...

Leave a Reply

