Pupukea Road

Life is short

Leave a comment

I heard some tragic news today about someone I know. We aren’t close, but I have known her for many years.  Without beating around the bush – she is fighting for her life and I can’t stop thinking about her children.  Life is so unpredictable. 

The other day I noticed I was over 40. If I’m lucky enough to live to 80, it means that I’m living the 2nd half of my life right now. If my parents are fortunate enough to live to 90, they only have 20 years left – half the life I’ve already led.  It seems like the older you get, the faster time goes by. Days pass in minutes and years feel like seconds.  And then I thought, wait. It’s going so fast. Am I really enjoying it all? 

Yes, I definitely am. I can rattle off all of the obvious reasons – loving husband, healthy children, strong family,… But really I am happy.  I have coffee with friends. I live my days wandering around with my baby. I exercise in the morning  and kiss my girls goodnight before bed.  I get to watch my children run and hear them laugh. 

Every. Single. Day. 

Life is so short. You never know what will happen next. It’s unfortunate that traumatic events remind you that it can be taken away so quickly.  I wish it were an automatic reflex for everyone to hug longer, love more, and worry less.  

There is no real end to this post, sorry, I’m having a hard time focusing because that news really hit me. (I’m actually thinking: “How is everyone going on with life right now while a young mother is in a hospital?” It feels THAT close to home.) 

Edit

My view while I contemplate life.

  

Author: jenwilliamshi

Just in case you're wondering, this is what I'm doing on my year off...

Leave a Reply

